Every year I enjoy making predictions about the new season.  I pick who will make the playoffs, who will win the Stanley Cup, and who will take home the hardware at the end of the season.  And each year come April my predictions made in October look nothing like what actually panned out.  I guess that’s why they’re predictions, but anyways here goes nothing.  In addition to me I asked a couple of our contributors here at The Hockey Prophet to make their predictions as well.

Brian Kasnicka’s Predictions:  

Western Conference                                         Eastern Conference

Central Divison                                                      Atlantic Division

  1. Chicago Blackhawks                                            1.  Tampa Bay Lightning
  2. Dallas Stars                                                            2.  Montreal Canadiens
  3.  St. Louis Blues                                                      3.  Detroit Red Wings
  4. Minnesota Wild (WC)                                                                                                                   

Pacific Division                                                      Metropolitan Division 

  1. Anahiem Ducks                                                   1.  New York Rangers
  2. Los Angeles Kings                                               2.  New York Islanders
  3.  Calgary Flames                                                   3.  Pittsburgh Penguins
  4. Edmonton Oilers(WC)                                      4.  Washington Capitals (WC)                                                                                                                                                     5.  Columbus Blue Jackets (WC)

Eastern Conference Final:  Tampa Bay Lightning vs. New York Islanders

Western Conference Final:  Chicago Blackhawks vs. Anaheim Ducks

Stanley Cup Final (winner in bold):  Chicago Blackhawks vs. Tampa Bay Lightning

Kyler Nelson’s Predictions:

Western Conference                                                Eastern Conference 

Central Division                                                         Atlantic Division 

  1.  St. Louis Blues                                                          1.  Tampa Bay Lightning
  2.  Chicago Blackhawks                                                2.  Montreal Canadiens
  3.  Dallas Stars                                                                3.  Detroit Red Wings
  4. Nashville Predators (WC)
  5. Minnesota Wild (WC)

Pacific Division                                                           Metropolitan Division 

  1.  Anaheim Ducks                                                         1.  Washington Capitals
  2.  Los Angeles Kings                                                     2.  New York Rangers
  3.  Edmonton                                                                  3.  New York Islanders                                                                                                                                                                 4.Columbus Blue Jackets (WC)                                                                                                                                                   5.Pittsburgh Penguins (WC)

Eastern Conference Final:  Montreal Canadiens vs. New York Islanders

Western Conference Final:  Anaheim Ducks vs. Chicago Blackhawks

Stanley Cup Final(winner in bold):  Anaheim Ducks vs. Montreal Canadiens

Rick Kasnicka’s Season Predictions:

Western Conference                                             Eastern Conference 

Central Division                                                      Atlantic Division 

  1.  Chicago Blackhawks                                            1.  Tampa Bay Lightning
  2.  St. Louis Blues                                                      2.  Detroit Red Wings
  3.  Dallas Stars                                                            3.  Boston Bruins
  4. Colorado (WC)

Pacific Division                                                         Metropolitan Division 

  1.  Anaheim Ducks                                                      1.  New York Islanders
  2.  Los Angeles Kings                                                  2.  Columbus Blue Jackets
  3.  Arizona Coyotes                                                      3.  New York Rangers
  4.  Vancouver Canucks(WC)                                     4.  Pittsburgh Penguins(WC)                                                                                                                                                       5.Washington Capitals(WC)

Eastern Conference Final:  Detoit Red Wings vs. New York Rangers

Western Conference Final:  Chicago Blackhawks vs. Anaheim Ducks

Stanley Cup Final(winner in bold):  Chicago Blackhawks vs. Detroit Red Wings


Carey Price Awards
Carey Price took home a lot of hardware last season. Could he do it again this year?


Now time for our end of season awards:

Art Ross Trophy (Player who amasses the most points)

Brian Kasnicka- Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

Kyler Nelson- Tyler Seguin, Dallas Stars

Rick Kasnicka- Tyler Seguin, Dallas Stars

Rocket Richard (Player who amasses the most goals)

Brian Kasnicka- Vladimir Tarasenko, St. Louis Blues

Kyler Nelson- Phil Kessel, Pittsburgh Penguins

Rick Kasnicka- Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

James Norris Memorial (Top Defenseman)

Jonathan Toews
Jonathan Toews is always a favorite to bring home the Selke Trophy.

BK- Shea Weber, Nashville Predators

KN- Alex Pietrangelo, St. Louis Blues

RK- Mark Giordano, Calgary Flames

Selke (Best Defensive Forward)

BK- Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings

KN- Johnathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

RK- Johnathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

Calder Memorial Trophy (Top Rookie in the league)

BK- Sam Bennett, Calgary Flames

KN- Jacke Eichel, Buffalo Sabres

RK- Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers

Vezina Trophy (Top Goaltender)

BK- Carey Price, Montreal Canadiens

KN- Carey Price, Montreal Canadiens

RK- Johnathan Quick, Los Angeles Kings

Hart Memorial Trophy (MVP)

BK- Jamie Benn, Dallas Stars

KN- Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

RK- Patrick Sharp, Dallas Stars